Online reviews 2018-08-03T13:02:39+00:00

Online reviews

” Top-Empfehlung für Petra/Wadi Musa”
“Durch einen Zufall sind wir bei Jolanda, eine wundervolle Gastgeberin, für drei Nächte untergekommen. Ihr B&B liegt sehr nah zum Eingang von Petra (15 Minuten zu Fuß) und trotzdem in einer sehr ruhigen Gegend, was uns wichtig war. Durch Jolandas einzigartige Gastfreundlichkeit haben wir uns wie zu Hause gefühlt. Abends saßen wir auf der Terrasse, die frei genutzt werden kann, und haben den schönen Blick auf das beleuchtete Wadi Musa genossen. Das Frühstück war liebevoll hergerichtet mit u.a. Konfitüren, hergestellt aus eigens geernteten Früchten. Auch konnte man für einen geringen Aufwand ein reichhaltiges Lunch Paket für den Ausflug nach Petra bekommen, was sehr praktisch war. Eine wirkliche Empfehlung für die Bleibe in Petra. Preis/Leistung stimmt! Zur Info: Es leben zwei Katzen mit im Haus, was man mögen sollte.”

Stephan, Germany (July 2018)

“relaxing, comfortable and homely”
“My son and I stayed two nights and it was relaxing, comfortable and homely. Yolande knows the local area well and was very helpful with itinerary suggestions. She was also very accommodating for early starts. Breakfast of local produce and fruit from the garden, on the terrace was lovely.”

James, UK (July 2018)

” A magical Jordan experience with a Dutch touch :)”
“There is just one word to describe our stay at Jolanda’s B&B: magical!
It already started in the weeks before: Jolanda answered all my questions extensively and gave tips for next destinations in Jordan. As one of us got sick just before we would arrive, she was very understandable and helpful, and we could postpone our stay a bit without any problem.
She organized the best taxi driver ever to pick us up from the border: Saleh. Be prepared for unforgettable music, nice stories, strong coffee with cardamom and even WiFi on the way!”

(If you’d like to read the rest of the review too, it’s here!)

Dutch traveladdict,The Netherlands (May 2018)

” It takes only 10-15 mins to walk to/from the entrance to Petra .”
“Yolanda is the most wonderful host!! She is warm, welcoming and always happy to have a chat. She is also extremely helpful, and can provide advice on the location of facilities (e.g. An ATM that takes MasterCard) in Wadi Musa as well as a reliable taxi driver. The location is simply superb. It takes only 10-15 mins to walk to/from the entrance to Petra (although it is uphill on the way back). And the breakfasts Yolanda provided we’re the best I have had in Jordan. I highly recommend staying her.

Amy, Australia, (April 2018)

” Bianca Abma from Wadi Rum Nomads recommended the Fig Tree Villa. And for good reasons! “
” We’ve (a family of five) been guests of Jolanda at her Fig Tree Villa on the 4th and 5th of January 2017. Bianca Abma from Wadi Rum Nomads recommended the Fig Tree Villa. And for good reasons! Jolanda gave us a very warm welcome. The villa is big and situated in a beautiful surrounding. Great views. The rooms were very big and comfortable. Two bathrooms were more than sufficiënt. On arrival we had a tea together and, after settling our stuff, she walked with us to show directions towards main entrance of Petra. After spending the day there, we came back and had diner with Jolanda and a friend. Talked a lot about life in Jordan. Had a good time. in the morning we had a very tasty Jordanian breakfast and then we were picked up by two taxi’s Jolanda arranged for us. All in all we had a very good stay at the Fig Tree Villa and we would recommend it strongly to anyone.”

Ed, The Netherlands (January 2018)

” I enjoyed my stay there so much that I will be going back for Christmas!”
” I decided to stay at the Petra Fig Tree Villa based on the recommendation of a friend who came back from Petra raving about how great her stay there had been and in particular how fantastic Jolanda had been as a host. Well my friend did not exaggerate, Jolanda is one of the best hosts that I have stayed with and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The villa itself is lovely and has a stunning view over the mountains surrounding Petra. You can easily walk down to the site itself, although on the recommendation from Jolanda we decided to drive down as the walk back up didn’t seem so appealing after hiking in Petra all day!
I enjoyed my stay there so much that I will be going back for Christmas!”

Louise, UK (December 2017)

“Een 10 met de griffel!”
“Niets dan lof voor de complete inzet van Jolanda Koopman! Ze begeleidt je van begin tot eind. Haar vegetarische keuken is verrukkelijk ! De locatie is top! Je kijkt op Petra!”

Kurt & Jeannette, The Netherlands (November 2017)

“La maison de Jolanda est une excellente adresse, nous avons passé un très bon séjour.”
“La maison est située à proximité immédiate de l’entrée de Petra, au calme absolu, avec une vue dégagée sur les montagnes alentour. Ensuite, les chambres sont spacieuses et très agréables. Les repas préparés par Jolanda, petit-déjeuner et repas du soir, sont exquis. Enfin Jolanda connait très bien Petra et la Jordanie, elle est de très bons conseils.
Nous étions avec nos enfants, c’était beaucoup plus agréable qu’un hôtel, le jardin est fermé, les enfants pouvaient jouer dehors le matin ou le soir en toute sécurité, sans déranger les autres locataires.
Merci beaucoup pour ce séjour !”

Laure, France (October 2017)

“A paradise in the middle east.”
“Excellent place to be in Petra, amazing and marvelous food, For visit Petra or hike this is the place place to stay, clean, large rooms, so cosy , Jolanda made us feel at home and always suggests the best places to see. No doubts I will repeat this travel and stay in B&B Fig Tree Villa”

Tania, Portugal (June 2017)

“Beste Unterkunft unserer Rundreise durch Jordanien.”
“Ich war mit meinem 7-jährigen Sohn für 2 Nächte im Fig Tree B&B und wäre gerne länger geblieben. Wir haben uns sehr sehr wohl gefühlt.
Jolanda hat einen tollen Ort geschaffen… Haus & Grundstück sind sehr gepflegt und liebevoll eingerichtet. Die Lage ist perfekt mit Blick auf Petra, nur 300m Luftlinie zum Visitor Center.
Jolanda ist eine tolle Gastgeberin, die aus dem B &B mit ihrer warmen Art wirklich eine Oase macht.
Danke Jolanda für eine tolle Zeit in Wadi Musa

Room Tip: Wir haben uns im Garden Room sehr wohl gefühlt”

Uli, Germany (April 2017)

“Excellent food, great views, lovely host.”
“We had a wonderful time at the Fig Tree Villa. It is such a nice atmosphere to relax in after a full day wandering around in Petra. Very friendly host Jolanda provides all the help you want with thinking about interesting hikes.”

Kim, The Netherlands (December 2016)

“Best place to stay in Petra.”
“The view is the first thing you notice, overlooking the city. Beautiful! Jolanda is an excellent host, and also a great cook! She cooked dinner one night for us, and it was delicious!
The bed and breakfast is about a 10-15 minute walk to the entrance of Petra. This is the perfect place to stay, with the comforts of home while you visit Petra”

Curly, (November 2017)

“Moreover the house is awesome and the view of the Petra site should be one of the best of Wadi Musa!”
“My stay in Jolanda’s home was fantastic ! Yolanda made her best to make my stay confortable ! And it was also ! We had good diner together (she is a pretty good cooker) and she gave me many advices for visiting Petra !
Great time spending with Jolanda! I really recommend her!”

Amélie, France (August 2016)

“¡El mejor lugar, con la mejor anfitriona!”
“Sobre el lugar. Es una casa que se encuentra en una colina, desde ahí el paisaje es espectacular al anochecer. Una vez instalado puedes caminar fácilmente hasta el centro de visitas de Petra.

La casa. Es muy cómoda, bastante amplia. La habitación es perfecta, bastante limpio todo.

Sobre los alimentos. El desayuno y la cena se sirven en la terraza, Jolanda la anfitriona se encarga de preparar la comida, que es abundante y deliciosa. Mientras comes puedes platicar con ella en perfecto inglés, sabe bastante de Petra y te puede dar buenos consejos de como recorrer la zona arqueológica.

Sobre Jolanda. Me parece que es una persona muy simpática, sociable y alguien en quien puedes confiar plenamente. Si es necesario te puede ayudar con algunos otros temas de tu viaje.

En general es de los mejores lugares en lo que me he quedado, ¡recomiendo muchísimo este lugar!”

Jose Luis, Mexico (July 2016)

“Beautiful place, perfect location for Petra.”
“We stayed here for two nights in a very big and comfortable room with our own balcony and beautiful view. The villa is located very close to the entrance of Petra, much closer than most of the other hotels and it is very peaceful and quiet.
We had the best breakfast of our trip to Jordan and really enjoyed our stay here, Yolanda is a fantastic host, it felt as if we were visiting a friend. We would highly recommend this place.”

Tineke, The Netherlands (May 2016)

“Great, well-located B&B with very hospitable owner”.
“B&B Petra Fig Tree Villa is a true home away from home. A lovely, spacious, well-decorated home with a big garden overlooking the Petra Mountains and Wadi Musa. Owner Jolanda gave my stay a real homey feeling. Her welcome was warm and friendly. She is knowledgeable and helped me with whatever I needed. The meals she provides are very tasty and nutritious. Petra Fig Tree Villa is a B&B as a B&B is supposed to be and so much more. Highly recommend!”

Bianca, The Netherlands (May 2016)

“Comfortable stay”
“I stayed for only one night but it was such a relaxing and comfortable stay. Jolanda is very hospitable and nice, i enjoyed the small talks we had. she was very helpful in arranging pick ups for me and giving me tips on what to do for the day i had visiting Petra. her place is so cozy and relaxing, it didn’t feel like a stranger’s house at all but more like staying at a friend’s place. i was so hungry by the time i arrived in the morning because i didn’t have time for breakfast and she gladly fixed me up a sandwich and some tea and gave me a snack before i head to Petra. she is an amazing cook and the dinner was delectable. the villa is in a walking distance from the Petra visitors center (10 to 15 minutes) with a bit of an uphill and has a nice view of wadi musa. my room was so nice and had a terrace overlooking the mountain and Petra.

It was a very relaxing though very short stay, wish i had more time to stay longer.”

Marwa, Egypt (April 2016)

“Excellent B&B over looking Wadi Mousa and Petra.”
“Petra Fig Tree villa is a lovely house in a perfect position overlooking Wadi Musa and 10 minutes climb from the entrance to Petra. It is not Grande Luxe (you do have to share a bathroom) but the bedrooms are comfortable and there are great terraces and gardens in which to sit and watch the sun come up – or go down!
Yolanda is friendly, welcoming and delightful – she not only fed and watered me really well but arranged an amazing trip to the Wadi Rum desert for me.
Her vegetarian food is delicious – and what better than a breakfast mezze on the terrace washed down by gallons of herbal tea and kept company by Pumpkin and Ginger, her two friendly cats!!

Michelle, United Kingdom (February 2016)
Guest in B&B Petra Fig Tree Villa